I JUST DON’T UNDERSTAND THE FASCINATION!

I just don’t understand society’s infatuation with zombies. When Pride and Prejudice and Zombies first came out, I was slightly offended for Miss Austen and swore not to read the book. (Nor, did I do so.)

Untitled design

However, the men in my house are addicted to the Walking Dead (and its new prequel), even my mild-mannered mother-in-law watches with them. Consequently, when talk of making the above-referenced book into a movie came out, my son, dared me to watch something with zombies in it. (They are a creature I always ignore as I am not a fan of the gore usually associated with them.) Anyway, while at Wal-Mart yesterday, I happened to see P&P&Z for sale in the video department. So, last night, for some inexplicable reason, I said to my husband and son, “Let’s watch Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.” My husband rushed to a Redbox to pick up a copy, and I sat down with the men in my life to watch the film. The truth be told, my husband slept through it (which is not unusual since he leaves for work at 4:30 a.m.), my 19-year-old son thought it was ridiculous, and I watched much of it with my hands covering my eyes. (My 16-year-old daughter (who is not a huge JA fan) watched it this morning and said it was “epic” and the first time a Jane Austen movie didn’t put her to sleep.)

After it was over, I could only ask myself what was I thinking? In my defense, I adored Lily James in Cinderella and thought she would make an interesting Lizzy Bennet. The costuming was lovely. I enjoyed the practice scenes between the Bennet sisters. I delighted in the girl power as I watched the sisters prepare for the Meryton Assembly. They managed to conceal a lot of wicked-looking knives fetchingly hidden by their gowns. And though from appearance, I could not conceive of Sam Riley as Mr. Darcy, I will admit he was better than expected and quite the romantic hero at times.

Giving credit where credit is due, the author created an interesting set up for the reason for the all the zombies. The casing was quite good. The Bennet sisters were beautiful and fierce. Mrs. Bennet had some of the best lines (complimenting Lady Catherine on her trousers and eye patch), and Mr. Bennet protected his family well. Mr. Collins was fun and decidedly less annoying. Lady Catherine was a much more pleasant character (particularly liked her expression of admiration to Lizzy).

Overall, I found the film ridiculous, but fun, most of the time, and it did manage several moments worthy of our dear couple. I laughed frequently and came close to tears a time or two. (SPOILER ALERT: My son figured out that Wickham was a zombie all along.)

However, all of that could not counterbalance my utter disgust each time I was forced to observe the grossness of a zombie or watch the spray of blood. The world’s fascination with these gruesome creatures will never be something to which I can relate. I would much rather read any other variation of this book and know the movie will not make my rewatch list.

2 thoughts on “I JUST DON’T UNDERSTAND THE FASCINATION!

  1. Thank you so much. This almost assures that I will not bother with this one. If it were possible for someone to roll over in the grave, I expect Jane Austen would be doing just that.

    Like

  2. I must agree with you. I was hesitant at first when the vampire and werewolf Darcy stories came out, but the ones I have read have been very well done. Zombies are another thing altogether! However, now my son cannot say I have never watched something with zombies, but I shall certainly never watch anything with them in the future! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

